Skip to content

Lex in the City: Cheap Thrills on a Dime

19 April 2011

I have accomplished quite a bit with $5 in my pocket. 

Thankfully, public tranpo only cost 35¢ to get around DTLA. This works for me because I refuse to pay $7 to park or use my $4.19/ gallon of gas to get around. 

Plus, riding the bus is like being a tourist again (and If I can take the bus around Argentina surely I will survive LA.)

Some of my cheap thrills so far have been:

  • MOCA’s NPR Engagement Party wherein we browsed contemporary art listening to various radio frequencies.  One of which included twitter feeds transferred into music notes or xylophone tones.
  • The Comedy Central Stage  with free comedy skits (which is an excellent price for a good laugh.)
  • Olvera Street is always a good time with free music, $3 tacos and don’t forget the churros.  It’s a great little tourist spot only walking distance from my pad.
  • Roving the eccentric collections of books at WACKO with its zany child-like gadgets is a creative way of passing the day, and I will definitely be heading back (thanks Erin for the great find!)
  • RealityLA, a youthful and non-traditional church with a strong Christian doctrine, has contributed to my sense of renewed purpose.  I am happy to have a place to keep me grounded and continue to build on the foundation for my new life.
  • I even scored Chelsea Lately tickets–Another free event to add to my calender.

Also in an attempt to use my penniless time wisely I have signed up with LA Works. Donating my time for a good cause is not only uplifting, but a great way to meet good quality people in the city.

Other than that, Darla (my canine housemate) and I have been taking strolls through Downtown just to admire and submerge into city life.

**Oh yeah, and I finally made it to Phillipe’s which means I can officially say I live in Downtown.

Next up on my cheap thrills adventure list is a walking tour of the 500 Days of Summer hotspots and the Downtown Artwalk with its array of food trucks and indie hipsters.

Hopefully, I can keep that $5 in my pocket for another week until my temp jobs pay out. And hopefully the sun will come out for good so I can work on my free tan around my not-so-free pool.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    21 April 2011 5:34 pm

    oh that darling bookstore…so glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

