Skip to content

Nothing Gold Can Stay

17 February 2011

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay.

~Robert Frost

I find myself here today to remind myself that no path dictates perfection.

This is hard for me since I am a classic Virgo perfectionist. Always I try and hold out for something better, in the meantime making no decision at all. In the end, time marches onward as I sit on the rock of indecisiveness.

Alas, my continual downfall.

In situations like moving to June or falling in love, I have jumped in the wind without consequence or responsibility. These events have proven to be the golden moments of my journey, although only realized in retrospection.

Today whether I sit on the rock or fly in the wind no choice is perfect, or without consequence. And yet, why do I try so hard to fight it?

Even when I know that nothing gold can stay.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 18 February 2011 8:21 am

    everyone has this kind of moment, keep hoping, reach out and remain confident…

    best regard, you deserve the best….

    Greetings, how are you? Your absence is missed, hope you well!

    Hope to see you in Poets Rally Week 38, check out details in my blog,

    Love your poetry talent and looking forward to a profound experience with your input.

    Cheers.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

