Skip to content

Introverted Skin

25 December 2010

My soul is old and weathered;

Like the scars upon my shell.

I have no outward feeling;

When I hide inside my cell.

This cover seems so callus,

 But I always call it home.

Because no matter where I’m headed,

My shell will always go.

 

In my skeleton protection,

My introversion hides.

I retreat at every instant,

A coward lives inside.

My worlds will never understand;

My choices: Land and Sea.

And although they do coexist,

They never can agree.

 

 So I continue on my journey,

in search of clarity.

And no matter where I’m headed,

A turtle I will be.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 December 2010 12:34 pm

    I really enjoyed this…I think perhaps Turtle is one of my totems. I related to him/her. Happy New Year of writing.

    • 26 December 2010 10:46 pm

      Thank you so much. I am new to this blogging world and I appreciate the feedback. The turtle was my first tattoo. A reminder to live life at my own pace.

  2. Kate permalink
    9 January 2011 9:07 pm

    I love it! Awesome poem

Leave a Reply

